Skip To Content
Student Senate Elects New 2019-20 Student Trustee
Student Senate Elects New 2019-20 Student Trustee
Posted on 02/20/2019

February 20, 2019 (Brockville, ON) – On Friday, February 15 the Upper Canada District School Board (UCDSB) Student Senators met for their third quarterly meeting and elected a new Student Trustee for the 2019-2020 school year.

Student Senators, representing all 21 UCDSB secondary schools and Awkesasne,

voted to elect Colten Kelford of Smiths Falls District Collegiate Institute (SFDCI) as the new Student Trustee. “I came into this hoping I was going to win, but it just seems surreal when they actually call your name. I had a lot of really good opposition, this was definitely a hard vote for everyone,” Kelford said. “I’m looking forward to making positive change and to help Student Senators make their schools better in any way that I can, and to help increase communication between staff and students.”

Kelford is currently in Grade 11 at SFDCI. He’s a member of student council, active in Smiths Falls community and has political career aspirations.

“I look forward to welcoming Colten to the Trustee table and working alongside him in September,” said Chair of the Board John McAllister.

The UCDSB received 24 applications for Student Trustee from students at 14 different secondary schools from across our school district. The applications were reviewed by an ad hoc Committee of the Board and narrowed down to five candidates, all of which had an opportunity to engage with student senators, answer questions and make speeches at the Friday meeting. 

Kelford’s term of office will begin on August 1, 2019 and run until July 31, 2020, replacing Student Trustees Bushra Khadra. Student Trustees are elected each year as mandated by the Ontario Education Act.

For more information, please call:

John McAllister
Chair of the Board
Upper Canada District School Board
(613) 213-4094

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.