Skip To Content
Public School Board elects McAllister and MacPherson as Chair and Vice Chair
Public School Board elects McAllister and MacPherson as Chair and Vice Chair
Posted on 12/06/2018

December 6, 2018 (Brockville, ON) – Last night at the inaugural meeting of the 2018-2022 Board of Trustees for the Upper Canada District School Board (UCDSB) Trustee John McAllister was elected as Chair of the Board and Trustee Bill MacPherson was elected as Vice Chair.

Both trustees have been long serving members of the Board. McAllister was first elected to the Board in 2010, making this his third consecutive term as a trustee. McAllister is a retired teacher and former municipal councillor. MacPherson was first elected to the Board in 2000, making this his fourth consecutive term.

“I am truly honoured and privileged to have been selected by you to serve as your chair and I will endeavor mightily to earn your trust,” McAllister told trustees.

The Chair said a key goal will be to ensure a positive atmosphere around the trustee table and emphasized that all trustees will have a voice. He pledged to increase public confidence in the UCDSB, especially given the challenging times that may be ahead.

Trustee David McDonald was re-elected as the Board’s representative on the Ontario Public School Boards’ Association (OPSBA). Newcomer Trustee Jamie Schoular will serve as the OPSBA alternate.

Prior to electing the respective representatives, all trustees were sworn in for the coming term. Justice John Johnston of Brockville presided over the ceremony.

The UCDSB Trustees for the 2018-2022 term are as follows:

  • Ward 1 – Don Cram: Beckwith, Carleton Place and Mississippi Mills
  • Ward 2 – Bill MacPherson: Drummond/North Elmsley, Lanark Highlands, Montague, Perth, and Tay Valley
  • Ward 3 – Jamie Schoular: Merrickville-Wolford, Rideau Lakes, Smiths Falls, and Westport
  • Ward 4 – John McAllister: Athens, Elizabethtown-Kitley, Front of Yonge, Gananoque, Leeds and the Thousand Islands.
  • Ward 5 – John McCrea: Augusta and Brockville
  • Ward 6 – Lisa Swan: Edwardsburgh-Cardinal, North Grenville, and Prescott
  • Ward 7 – Larry Berry: North Dundas, South Dundas (attended by teleconference, previously sworn in at another location)
  • Ward 8 – David McDonald: Cornwall
  • Ward 9 – John Danaher: North Glengarry, South Glengarry, North Stormont, South Stormont
  • Ward 10 – Corina Parisien: Alfred-Plantagenet, Casselman, Champlain, Clarence-Rockland, East Hawkesbury, Hawkesbury, Russell, and The Nation Municipality
  • Ward 11 – Ryan Jacobs: Indigenous Representative for Akwesasne

For media inquiries, please contact:

Stephen Sliwa 
Director of Education
Upper Canada District School Board 
613-342-0371 ext. 1188

John McAllister
Chair of the Board
Upper Canada District School Board




Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.